nine things i love about you [nm]

It’s official. I live in New Mexico. It has been a while since I wrote last and to the thousands three of you who read this blog, I apologize.

To ring in this very exciting move, I thought I would list 10 things I love about my home.  In no particular order…

#1: The insects!
There are fewer of the “annoying” types: mosquitoes, ticks (though not technically an insect), sweat bees, etc–and ooooodles of beauties. Would you look at this beetle I met!? He was just walking down the sidewalk.

IMG_2114

IMG_2115

Also, while trying to open the back gate, I noticed something bright green out of the corner of my eye. Low and behold: fangs.

IMG_2128
(not an insect, but pretty durn cool)

#2: Living in our house
I’ve lived in apartments and a townhome but living in a house that is not connected to anyone else is the life!! I will post pictures once it starts looking more like a house and less like a nice climate-controlled storage facility for cardboard boxes and random furniture.

#3: My puppy
Ok, at 80 lbs he’s not quite a puppy but I shore do love him. We got Duke from a dude at Sheppard (he rescued him from the side of the road in West Texas). He’s beautiful and has the sweetest personality.

IMG_2083

#4: Low humidity
I hate humidity, almost as much as mosquitoes. Being in an area with little to no humidity is like a dream come true! *sigh*
Which leads me to my next favorite thing so far:

#5: The Sky
The sky here reminds me so much of the Colorado sky. The lack of humidity makes the blue sky so crisp and clear.

#6: My Own Backyard
Having my own backyard is sweet. I pretty much live on the back porch (because, even though it’s hot outside, the lack of humidity makes it tolerable). I have already planted a few things and I’m learning to use a rotary mower. And I must mention the critters…

#7: The Critters
I already mentioned Duke but I recently discovered we have a family of…wait for it…TOADS!! I saw this hole by the porch the other day and looked inside and saw something spotted. I naturally assumed it was a snake.
IMG_2129

The next day, when the sprinkler system came on, the Toad family hopped out! Hooray for toads!
IMG_2120

IMG_2121

#8: Church
No picture for this one but we already found a church. . . where they actually sing hymns. It’s amazing! The people here have been so nice and the town seems to really appreciate the military!

#9: Small town
Again no picture but I just love the small town feel this place has. At nearly 40,000 folks, it’s not that small…but certainly smaller than I’ve lived in for a good-long while.

 

It’s the good life.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “nine things i love about you [nm]

  1. Mawmie Dearest

    We are so proud of our kids! This is the beginning of greater things to come I’m sure. How do I know this. you ask? Guess.

  2. Jen

    Thanks for the update! Sounds wonderful 🙂 So glad to hear you are all moved in and loving life in NM!!!

  3. McKay

    Love your new life!! How FABulous!

  4. Cindy

    First of all, there are at least 4 comments now, so you’re quickly approaching “thousands.” 😉

    Second, wonderful post! I love the pics and the little stories. A toad family – how wonderful!

    Third – come visit me!

    xo C

  5. Brittney

    I am so glad that everything is going so well. Soon you will have a #11, The Dixons! 🙂 Although it will be awhile before we will be there, I can’t wait for our puppies to meet (I always call Mason a puppy, too) and for us all to settle into our new life in NM.

    P.S. We have a rotary mower, too. 🙂

  6. Pingback: Welcome 2010 « the sparrow

  7. These are great reasons to love NM, and none of them are the things I would have picked. These are the things I would have taken for granted, after living in NM for over 24 years.

    I know it’s a bit late since this blog entry was posted over a year ago, but let me extend a belated “Welcome!” Glad to have you here.

Leave a Reply

