summer songs

I appreciate how I can hear a song and instantly be transported back to a different time.  Different music reminds me of various significant times (significant to me, at least) in my life–the summer I moved to Colorado, when I fell in love, etc.

IMG_1901-1

Hidden away in our little house on our little street in our little town, I’ve had a significant summer.  The solitude has provided so much time to reflect, create, and learn.  The song below (along with most of the songs from the album, “The House Show”) will be the song that inevitably transports me back to the summer of 2009.

Unfortunately, this song is not on youtube yet but here’s a link to listen.  It’s beautiful.

I Repent by Derek Webb

I repent, I repent of my pursuit of America’s dream
I repent, I repent of living like I deserve anything
Of my house, my fence, my kids, my wife
In our suburb where we’re safe and white
I am wrong and of these things I repent

I repent, I repent of parading my liberty
I repent. I repent of paying for what I get for free
And for the way I believe that I am living right
By trading sins for others that are easier to hide
I am wrong and of these things I repent

I repent judging by a law that even I can’t keep
Of wearing righteousness like a disguise
To see through the planks in my own eyes

I repent, I repent of trading Truth for false unity
I repent, I repent of confusing peace and idolatry
By caring more of what they think than what I know of what we need
By domesticating you until you look just like me
I am wrong and of these things I repent

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “summer songs

  1. Jen

    beautiful…simply beautiful

Leave a Reply

