mint

It seemed like we had been to every greenhouse and still no mint plant.  I love mint.  There’s something so clean and fresh about the taste and smell…the most redeeming of all herbs, really.  Finally, we found a local greenhouse that carried it.  Granted, it was orange-mint but I wasn’t picky at this point.

Life got in the way (what does that even mean?) and I failed to plant it immediately.  I put it off for nearly a week and, though it was watered, it became a brown-viney mess.  There was the occasional green leaf so I didn’t want to prune it back–I planted the whole thing.  Provided sun, water, and waited.  No improvement.

After two weeks of this stubborn stalemate, I grew weary of such an ugly plant and cut it all back.  Cut back the dead and even the small green leaves hanging on for dear life.  All that was left was one tiny green stem with two little leaves.  I was disgusted with myself and this failure.  Who was I to take a perfectly sweet smelling and flourishing plant and bring it so near to death by my own neglect?

Resentfully, I watered the lone stem and pair of leaves.  Though hope still wavered, it began to grow.  It has slowly grown into 3 small stems and 20 leaves…I have hope.

Such a stark parallel to life.  Apathy sets in and other idols follow–maybe empty entertainment, busy-ness, relationships, or even self-pity.  Soon I become a brown-viney mess that no amount of watering can cure.

“And He has said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness.’  Most gladly, therefore, I will rather boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may dwell in me.  Therefore I am well content with weaknesses, with insults, with distresses, with persecutions, with difficulties, for Christ’s sake; for when I am weak, then I am strong.” (2 Cor. 12:9-10)

So I pray, in desperation for life, to be replanted and pruned.  But moreso, I need hope and grace to boast in weakness.  “Lord, help my unbelief!” (Mark 9:24)

Your ears will hear a word behind you, “This is the way, walk in it,” whenever you turn to the right or to the left.
(Isaiah 30:21)
3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “mint

  1. Mawmie

    Isn’t it cool how God uses nature to convict our souls?

  2. cindy

    Tara, what a lovely illustration. God is faithful to reveal himself and ourselves to us. He doesn’t give up. He is gentle and tender through all our mistakes. What a precious gift is his grace in our weakness. And how weak we are. And how strong in him.

Leave a Reply

