2 Things I Wish Someone Would’ve Told Me

I love being prepared.  Arriving 10 minutes early, making meal plans, and having a clean house before I know company is coming–those things just thrill me.  That being said, there are two things I was NOT prepared for when having my sweet boy.

1.  Read, Read, Read

I planned on figuring out how to do naptimes, feedings, and all those other baby-things when the baby came along.  After reading “What to Expect When You’re Expecting”, I was on information overload and overwhelmed; surely, I assumed, reading the how-to books would only add to the burden.  Oh dear.  How I wish I would’ve read all those books with sweet E in utero!  There is no one right way and every child-mother combo is different but it would’ve relieved an enormous amount of stress had I known all my options (books like On Becoming Baby Wise and Secrets of the Baby Whisperer) .  Also, I would’ve made a couple of easy-to-reference charts–how much should baby be sleeping at different ages, how much should baby be eating, what medicines can he have what ages, etc.

2.  Mommy Guilt

Ugh!  It’s very real, very oppressive, and darn-right mean.  Every time I turn around, I’m feeling bad about something else–whether it’s something that happened yesterday or the first week of E’s life.  I battle with memorized scripture as my sword and my shield, unceasing prayer.  If you are in the midst of it, know you are not alone. I would suggest these two places to lift your spirits:

1.  Little Pieces of Ordinary – Ashley gently reminds what real grace really is.

2.  Why Their Methods Won’t Work For You – Practical and encouraging words about discipline.

Love to those of you with little ones at home and those carrying Baby around within you.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “2 Things I Wish Someone Would’ve Told Me

  1. Mawmie D.

    Spoken like a true scientist! hehe.
    Love you, my girl.

  2. Kat

    I’m so glad my post you! Thanks for sharing it.

  3. Three things:
    1. I loved BabyWise. It helped so much. Definitely experienced info overload, too, but managed to work through that one and would recommend it to anyone.
    2. Mommy guilt. AAAHHHH! It’s so hard!! And I can’t say it gets better as they get older, either! BUT, I’m finally learning some things. Posting tomorrow.
    3. Humbled by your link. Thank you. 🙂

  4. Mommy guilt is the worst attack Satan makes against us. :>) I am reminded that God knitted my child in the womb, MY womb, the one that He chose for her. That being said, He chose me to be her mom and so He will guide me every step of the way. (Sometimes I stumble, but He picks me up.)

  5. Pingback: Pioneering Through Memorization | the sparrow

Leave a Reply

